Professor Robert Fowler FBA
Henry Overton Wills Professor of Greek, University of Bristol


Professor Pat Easterling FBA,  Mr Brian GilmoreMr. George Lemos, Dr. Pantelis Michelakis, Professor Robin Osborne FBA,  Professor Christopher Rowe OBE, Professor Ken Saunders MD DSc FRCP, Professor Malcolm Schofield FBA, Professor Brian Sparkes, Dr. David Thomas.

Honorary Treasurer: Mr Peter Lennon
Honorary Secretary: Dr Margaret Mountford
Executive Secretary: Ms Richella Doyle
Membership Officer: Dr Evelien Bracke

Editor JHS: Professor Douglas Cairns
Editor JHS Reviews:
Dr. Fiona Hobdon

Report and financial statements

Rules of the Society


Elected 2014

Dr Anne Alwis
Ms Anna Bell
Professor Patrick Finglass
Ms Davina Given
Dr Caspar Meyer
Professor Richard Stoneman

Elected 2015

Dr Evelien Bracke
Dr Elena Giusti
Dr Jan Haywood
Dr Duncan McCombie
Dr Christos Nifadopoulos
Dr Nicolas Wiater

Elected 2016

Dr Bruno Currie
Miss Amelia Dowler
Dr Steven Kennedy
Professor Judith Mossman
Mrs Maria Oikonomou
Dr Vasiliki Zali


Members of the Council serve for a period of three years. They are chosen from the membership of the Society and are proposed by the Council and elected at the Annual General Meeting. In selecting members the Council seeks to achieve a spread/balance of gender /age /geography /skills and background. Council is keen to recruit not only professional academics and those who teach Greek and related subjects in schools, but also members with skills which will help to run the charity, such as accountancy, legal and/or investment experience, or which will promote outreach, such as marketing, event or conference organization and IT/media skills. We particularly welcome interest from younger members of the Society. Anyone interested in becoming a member of Council is encouraged to approach any of the officers.

Bookmark and Share

Comments are closed.