## PROCEEDINGS OF THE SOCIETY FOR THE PROMOTION OF HELLENIC STUDIES 2011–2012

The Annual General Meeting of the Society was held at 3pm on Saturday 9th June 2012 in the Senate Room, Senate House, Malet Street, London. The President, Professor Chris Carey, was in the chair and welcomed members.

The minutes of the previous meeting were passed and signed. Professor Carey discussed the activities of the Council and Committees during the past year. He noted that three elements of the cultural programme highlighted the Society's desire to re-engage and collaborate with interested parties: first, the Society's engagement with the British School at Athens in celebration of the School's 125th anniversary; second, the very successful collaborative event on Oxyrhynchus; and, third, looking forward, the varied programme of lectures, exhibitions and events organized in celebration of the Olympics, past and present. In respect of membership, the President stated it had been deemed necessary to review the Society's offering to members outside of London and the UK, in other words, members without easy access to the wonderful resources of the Joint Library. The role of Membership Officer (Dr Dan Stewart) had been created and an upgrade of the Society's website was in progress. To compliment the redesign of the website, a Newsletter, Facebook page, Twitter account, Flickr account and YouTube channel had been designed to enhance the Society's outreach. Professor Carey thanked Thomas Coward and Professor Brian Sparkes for donating digital images for members' use in educational projects. Professor Carey reported on a further significant development in the works for members: the ability to access the Joint Library's JSTOR resources off-site via the Library's website. In respect of the Joint Library, it was confirmed that Council had agreed to roll forward the funding of the 6th Library post until 1st July 2015 following a review of the Joint Library by Dr Margaret Mountford and Ms Alison Sproston.

Dr David Thomas (Honorary Treasurer) presented the 2011 Accounts. The 2011 Accounts show that the Society had net incoming resources (prior to gains on investment assets) of £118,982 compared to £102,952 in 2010, a rise of £16,030, continuing the underlying improvement in net incoming resources seen in 2009 and 2010. Part of the £118,982 surplus is accounted for by capitalized acquisitions of books and periodicals for the library. Deducting net additions to tangible assets and adding back depreciation, the surplus is £65,821, which more closely corresponds to the underlying cash position on the Society's ordinary activities. The equivalent figure in 2010 was a surplus of £53,471, giving a rise in surplus in 2011 of £12,350. The principal changes over the year that account for this increase were identified as: £17,365 in extra income from Cambridge University Press, £14,213 more in library donations, £6,864 in extra subscription income. This was partly offset by a fall in income from late subscriptions and extra expenditure on library space and salary costs. Dr Thomas reported losses on the Society's investment portfolio of £24,454. Nevertheless, he concluded that the investments had performed satisfactorily given the state of the markets in 2011. Dr Thomas did not propose an increase in membership subscriptions for 2013.

Professor Malcolm Schofield proposed the adoption of the 2011 Accounts, seconded by Mrs Andrea Thornton. The accounts were unanimously adopted. Professor Carey thanked Dr Thomas and Ms Doyle for their work throughout the year.

The following nominations were proposed by Professor Carey and seconded by Professor Bob Fowler:

for re-election as Vice-Presidents: Professor Pat Easterling, Mr Brian Gilmore, Professor Eric Handley, Mr George Lemos, Professor Robin Osborne, Professor Christopher Rowe, Professor Ken Saunders, Professor Malcolm Schofield and Professor Brian Sparkes; for re-election as Honorary Treasurer (for a second term of three years): Dr David Thomas for election as Members of Council (to serve 2012–2015): Dr Lisa Hau (Glasgow), Dr Philip Horky (Durham), Dr Andrew Morrison (Manchester), Dr Gideon Nisbet

(Birmingham), Mr James Renshaw (St Paul's School), Dr Anja Ulbrick (Ashmolean Museum), Dr Naoko Yamagata (Open University). for re-election as Auditors: Larkings Chartered Accountants, 31 St George's Place,

Canterbury, Kent CT1 1XD.

The nominations were unanimously adopted. The proceedings were drawn to a close.